Basketball Exists

By J.M. Comer

The regular football season is over. LSU won the SEC championship yesterday. I saw Les Miles without a cap. And so begins The War Eagle Reader’s basketball coverage.

Today Auburn will play George Washington University in the BB&T Classic at 2:30 EST at the Verizon Center in Washington, D.C.

It will be a nice distraction from AAARRRRGGGGGHHHHHHHH!!!!!

Your faithful reporter will be there with some fellow Auburn grads: frequent TWER comment contributor and D.C. resident, Ike, his wife Joanna (the most talented person I know) and a soon-to-be Scottish philosopher, Eric the Red.

We’ll be sitting in the cheap seats.

I love, love, love road games. And this is probably the first Auburn basketball game I’ve been to since 1999. I’m stoked.

I called the Verizon Center and asked if there was a dedicated section for Lebo’s Lunatics, but alas, Tiger fans will be spread thin throughout the coliseum. Our little four-strong section of Tigers will rock it out.

I’ll take photos. I’ll tell you who got the most rebounds and stuff.

chris-porter-hd.jpg
This guy still plays for Auburn, right?

Let me be completely honest here. I know nothing about Auburn’s basketball team this year. It will be my grand reintroduction to Tiger roundball. You can’t pick up SEC basketball games on rabbit-ear TV this time of year in the mid-Atlantic. And I’ve been a bit focused on the greatest sport on the face of the earth for the past few months. Please forgive me.

Did I lose 20 Tiger Points with that admission? (I’ll probably lose 120 more Tiger Points with the fact that I’m absolutely smitten with this man.)

Auburn comes into the game 4-1 with their loss against Tulane. GW has a 3-2 record with losses against UCLA and the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.

Heh, heh. The George Washington Colonials lost to a “county” school.

Seriously, this GW team is the defending Atlantic 10 champs and won a game in this same BB&T Classic last year against Virginia Tech.

They made it to the NCAA tournament, but lost in the first round to Vandy by 33 points.

This looks to be a great road test for our Auburn Tigers this year and would be a great win.

War Eagle!

Congrats to Navy

If you are a Navy man and an Auburn Tiger, this morning must be glorious to you. Take a sip of that coffee, savor this moment, lean back and fire off a couple of celebratory tomahawk missiles into the bright blue sky. Those Navy Midshipmen leveled Army for the 6th year in a row! That sure sounds familiar …

5 Comments

Filed under Pre-game Notes

5 responses to “Basketball Exists

  1. James

    Hope you had fun at the game. I really think Lebo has us going the right direction. If we can hang onto him before the new arena opens, we’re going to get really good.

  2. el Carg

    Come on, more on the basketball game. I went to an Auburn game here in Colorado a couple of years ago when Lebo’s team played Colorado St. It was fun being a three-“Cameron crazies” section against the CSU student body. AU lost that game, but mainly because former Tiger Chris Morris’ two sons played for the Rams. Unfortunately, Chris didn’t make it because he was still playing pro ball in EGYPT!

    Nice job pulling the Tigers through!

  3. Thanks for the comments guys. More coming on Sunday’s game this afternoon.

  4. Tree

    the single greatest sports moment of my life came at an Auburn basketball game. Crystal has heard the story only a million times. So many times, in fact, that she can stop me before I even start it.

  5. Please discuss it here, sir. I’ve never heard it, have I?

Leave a Reply

