Toomer’s Rumors and Boomers – 1.29.08

*** I don’t know how in the world I missed AuburnElvis.com — I’ve seen Auburn Elvis at the games a few times (just look for the crowd of girls and the digicams) and can now enjoy tales of his exploits.

auburn-elvis.jpg

*** While typing up a little catharsis of my own a few weeks back, I only briefly pondered the synergy between Finebaum and EDSBS, the partiality and singular deference mutually accorded by these media masterminds, one for the other. I knew the photo of Spurrier in the header didn’t hurt on the Finebaum end, but I mostly chalked it up at the time as simply being friend-of-a-friends through Warren St. John… and that obviously plays a big part, but Orson’s wistful Bear Bryant-themed memoir hints at a related but much deeper connection…

And while Finebaum is in the air, does anyone know if I-Man laid into him yesterday about his encounter with Elizabeth Gottfried? Something tells me the name Tommy Wilcox will never more be spoken…

*** I can’t be sure about this, but if Williamson High School’s (Mobile) DE Terrence Coleman were to commit to Auburn come next year – and according to AuburnSports.com there’s mutual interest there – I think it would be the first instance in Auburn football history of a player having his uncle for a teammate. Coleman is the nephew of Auburn’s awesome defensive end Antonio Coleman, and he’s supposed to be good. Terrence would be a freshman, Antonio a senior. Uncle! Fumble!

1 Comment

Filed under Toomer's Rumors and Boomers

One response to “Toomer’s Rumors and Boomers – 1.29.08

  1. Hey, thankyouverymuch for the shout-out.
    I have one more suggestion for “most underrated” – Trey Gainous. Tillman gets most of the credit for the ’86 Iron Bowl, but without Gainous’s 4th down catch, the game would’ve been over.
    Also, as a kid, I remember my Dad telling me some story about how Trey once did a standing broad-jump over a car. It was probably just urban legend, but this young Auburn fan believed it.

Leave a Reply

